Modern Indian History MCQ Question with Answer

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on telegram
Share on whatsapp
Share on pinterest
Share on reddit
Share on tumblr

Modern Indian History MCQ Question with Answer

Q1. Who among the following was a proponent of Fabianism as a movement?

(a) Annie Besant

(b) A.O. Hume

(c) Michael Madhusudan Dutt

(d) R. Palme Dutt

Answer:(a) Annie Besant

Explanation: The Fabian Society is a British socialist intellectual movement best known for its initial ground-breaking work beginning in the late 19thcentury and then up to World War I. Fabianism focused on the advancement of socialist ideas through gradual influence and patiently insinuating socialist ideology into intellectual circles and groups with power.

Q2. As an alternative to the partition of India, Gandhiji suggested to Mountbatten that he:

(a) Postponed granting of independence

(b) Invited Jinnah to form the government

(c) Invited Nehru and Jinnah to form the government together

(d) Invite the army to take over for some time

Answer:(b) Invited Jinnah to form the government

Explanation: Mountbatten Plan came into existence on June 3, 1947. Gandhi ji suggested that he should invite Jinnah to form the government rather than partition of India.

Q3. ​Which one of the following was the first English ship that came to India?

​(a) ​Elizabeth ​

(b) ​Titanic ​

(c) ​Red Dragon

​(d) ​Mayflower

Answer: ​(c) ​

Explanation: Red Dragon was the first English ship that came to India.  The Red Dragon fought the Portuguese at the Battle of Swally in 1612, and made several voyages to the East Indies.

Q4. When Mahatma Gandhi was arrested who among the following took over the leadership of Salt Satyagraha?

(a) Vinoba Bhave

(b) Sardar Vallabh Bhai Patel

(c) Abbas Tyabji

(d) Maulana Abdul Kalam Azad

Answer: (c)

Explanation: Abbas Tyabji was an Indian freedom fighter from Gujarat, who once served as the Chief Justice of the (Baroda) Gujarat High Court. Mahatma Gandhi appointed Tyabji, at age seventy-six, to replace him as leader of the Salt Satyagraha in May 1930 after Gandhi’s arrest. Tyabji was arrested soon afterward and imprisoned by the British Indian Government. Gandhi and others respectfully called Tyabji the “Grand Old Man of Gujarat”

Q5. In the interim government formed in 1946, the Vice-President of the Executive Council was:

(a) Jawaharlal Nehru

(b) Dr. S. Radhakrishnan

(c) C. Rajagopalachari

(d) Dr. Rajendra Prasad

Answer: (a) Jawaharlal Nehru

Explanation:  C. Rajagopalachari was the Head of the Department of Education and Dr. Rajendra Prasad was the Head of the Department of Food & Agriculture in the Executive Council.

Q6. When Congress leaders condemned the Montagu- Chelmsford Report, many moderates left the party to form the:

(a) Swarajya Party

(b) Indian Freedom Party

(c) Independence Federation of India

(d) Indian Liberal Federation

Answer:(d) Indian Liberal Federation

Explanation: When Congress leaders condemned the Montagu-Chelmsford Report (July, 1918), many moderates led by Surendra Nath Banerjea left the party to form Indian Liberal Federation in 1919.

Q7. Who is generally acknowledged as the pioneer of local self-government in modern India?

(a) Ripon

(b) Mayo

(c) Lytton

(d) Curzon

Answer: (a)

Explanation: Lord Ripon’s Resolution of 18 May, 1882 is hailed as the Magna Carat of government and got for him the title of “father of local self-government in India. The resolution on local self-government recognised the twin considerations of local government: (i) administrative efficiency and (ii) political education. The Ripon Resolution, which focused on towns, provided for local bodies consisting of a large majority of elected non-official members and presided over by a nonofficial chairperson.

Q8. Which one of the following was directly related to the Poona Pact of 1932?

​(a) ​Indian women

​(b) ​Indian labour class ​

(c) ​Indian farmers ​

(d) ​Indian depressed class

Answer: (d)

Explanation: The Poona Pact was signed on 25 September 1932 at Bombay. By this the separate electorate for depressed classes was abolished.

Q9. Consider the following statements:

  1. The First Session of the Indian National Congress was held in Calcutta
  2. The Second Session of the Indian National Congress was held under the presidentship of Dadabhai Naoroji
  3. Both Indian National Congress and Muslim League held their sessions at Lucknow in 1916 and concluded the Lucknow Pact

Which of the statements given above is/are correct?

(a) 1 and 2

(b) 2 only [2004]

(c) 2 and 3

(d) 3 only

Answer:(c) 2 and 3

Explanation: Statement 1 is incorrect as first session was held in 1885 at Bombay (not in Calcutta) under the president ship of W.C. Banerjee. The second session was held in Calcutta. Lucknow session in 1916 was presided over by A.C. Majumdaar.

Q10. The ‘Modi script’ was employed in the documents of the:

(a) Wodeyars

(b) Zamorins

(c) Hoysalas

(d) Marathas

Answer:(d) Marathas

Explanation:  It was mainly used in maintaining the revenue and administrative records.

Pages ( 1 of 10 ): 1 2 ... 10Next »

Read Important Article

error: Content is protected !!